Real World Driving - Renault Z.E. Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 64 (permalink) Old 10-21-2013, 04:32 AM Thread Starter

Real World Driving

I wanted to start a thread on 'real world' driving. The 'how far in a Fluence' thread has been useful especially when I had to deliver my car home on an epic journey.

My wife is now driving the Fluence on her daily commute of 30 miles (20 miles motorway speeds and 10 miles urban) using the pre-heating (which works great by the way) and the cabin temperature on AUTO at a constant 21C setpoint. Outside temps approximating 10C just now. Range wise I would concur with Donald that I can get 60 miles using the car 'normally'

Now that I have my chargemaster homecharge station up and running I can log into the portal and see how much kWh EACH charge session consumes (inclusive of the pre-heat)

My early findings indicate that the car is covering approx 2 miles for every kWh of CHARGE. My findings also indicate that there must be some inefficiency in charging. I covered 42 miles yesterday (which took me down to 3/8 charge). Charging that up overnight with pre-heat took 21.26 kWh. I now it can be worse that that if the battery cooling fan kicks in but that only seems to happen if the battery charge is below 1/8th when you commence charging?

I am currently paying 10p/kWh so the Fluence is costing me 5p a mile to run. My fixed deal is ending in December so I fully expect to be paying 13p/kWh come January.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 64 (permalink) Old 10-21-2013, 04:56 AM
Banned

RE: Real World Driving

Electricdream, very intersting figures you have produced. I cannot provide similar figures from my experience as I am currently using the 10A cable, not my wall charger. I also do not use pre-heating.

However, as a rough guide: